At the Millennium Summit of the United Nations General Assembly in New York, the Member States of the United Nations (147 of them represented by their Head of State or Government), in a historic decision on 8 September 2000, adopted the United Nations Millennium Declaration.

The Declaration built on a decade of major United Nations conferences and summits and committed Member States to a series of time-bound targets with a deadline of 2015, which became known as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).