The CEB Climate Change Action Framework identified five focus areas (Adaptation; Technology transfer; Forestry and Agriculture; Financing mitigation and adaptation action; Capacity-building) and four cross-cutting areas (Climate knowledge: science, assessment, monitoring and early warning; Supporting global, regional and national action; Public awareness-raising; Social Dimensions of Climate Change) in response to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change negotiation process and in pursuance of the broader mandates and capacities in the United Nations system.  A sixth focus area "mitigation" was added in 2012.

Focus Area
Convening agency
Cross-cutting Area 
Supporting global, regional and national action
UN Communications Group, UNEP