Secretary-General Hosts Working Breakfast for UN System Principals/COP15
Secretary-General Hosts Working Breakfast for UN System Principals/COP15: UN Photo/Mark Garten

The CEB Climate Change Action Framework identified five focus areas (Adaptation; Technology transfer; Forestry and Agriculture; Financing mitigation and adaptation action; Capacity-building) and four cross-cutting areas (Climate knowledge: science, assessment, monitoring and early warning; Supporting global, regional and national action; Public awareness-raising; Social Dimensions of Climate Change) in response to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change negotiation process and in pursuance of the broader mandates and capacities in the United Nations system.  A sixth focus area "mitigation" was added in 2012.

Focus Area
Convening agency
Cross-cutting Area 
Supporting global, regional and national action
UN Communications Group, UNEP


The UN system's work in this area is governed by the stipulations of COP decision 1/CP.10 and the Nairobi Work Programme on Impacts, Vulnerability and Adaptation to Climate Change.

Technology Transfer

Technology transfer and development activities by the UN system promote the diffusion and uptake of environmentallyfriendly and climate-friendly technologies and practices towards achieving objectives of mitigation and adaptation at the country level.

Forestry and agriculture

REDD-related activities of the UN system aspire to contribute towards achieving sustainable management of forests that enables the economic, environmental and social goods and services of forests to benefit countries, communities and forest users, while also contributing to global reductions in greenhouse gas emissions.


The United Nations system works to strengthen national institutions and human capacity to better analyze the impacts of climate change, develop courses of action for greater resilience and implement relevant adaptation and mitigation activities.